Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Any pointers on Tambourine recording?

Tim Julian is offline Gold Club Member (1000+ posts)

Default Any pointers on Tambourine recording?

Hi all,

I have been doing this recording thing for a few years with good results on things - the only thing that has eluded me is a nice tambourine sound. I usually end up with them sounding "ssshhhicckkky" or 'thumpy' or a combination of both. I've tried a few different mics and placements but still have to happen on the right one. Mics have included SM81, AKG C4000B, SM57, Rode NT1000(bad choice I think...) and an AKG C430. That pretty much exhausts the mic cupboard, so I must be doing something intrinsically wrong. Any pointers anyone?

Thanks

Tim Julian
    The Colour Field Recording Studio
    www.fragilecolours.com

You know, you should also check out a number of different tambourines....
    Dave Martin
    Nashville, TN
    Java Jive Studio

Yes, I did try some different tambourines - some bright ones and some dark ones, all reasonably expensive ones.

Tim

Guys...

Mics and preamps have very little to do with obtaining a fantastic tambourine sound. It's the player that matters above all else. If the tambourine player does not know how to romance the music out of his or her instrument, all is lost.

Read this, and be enlightened...

http://www.theonion.com/content/node/33224
    Lee Blaske
    Excelsior, MN
    http://www.reverbnation.com/leeblaske

Default Romancing the Tambourine...

Hi Lee,

I've just read about romancing the tambourine. I've been married for 17 years, faithfully, and now here is an exhortation to begin flirting, no, becoming romantically entangled with a percussion instrument. I suppose if I keep the studio door locked and the curtains drawn...

Seriously, I see the point, and I like the mans manic devotion to his instrument.

Cheers,

Tim

Quote Originally Posted by Tim Julian View Post