Thread: FMR RNP vs. Mackie VLZ Pre

FMR RNP vs. Mackie VLZ Pre

Hi all,

Newbie here(easy now)

I recently did a comparison recording of drum overhead mics(Oktava MC012). Mackie 1402VLZ board vs. FMR RNP. I found them to be very close- the RNP was a little quicker- picking up more of the transient...but, in my opinion, I can't justify the cost due to the difference I'm not hearing....should I just save up for an Focusrite ISA 428?

I wanted to get other's opinions. I was looking for an upgrade but my budget is just not there for a Great River or other super high end pre. I want the difference to be significant. A definite improvement that I can hear over the Mackie VLZ pres.

Recorded through a LynxTwo soundcard via ADAT into Protools, BTW.

Thanks for any input or suggestions!
    2010 3D VIP

Unfortunately sometimes you don't begin to hear big differences with preamps until one day you need more headroom and it's not there and also when you begin to add lots of tracks in a dense mix and all the sudden everything seems kind of fuzzy, less defined. Quality preamps help to keep everything in it's own place in the mix. I really noticed this when our studio upgraded our preamps from using a Yamaha AW4416s preamps (kind of lame) to the world class Buzz MA2.2 and the Phoenix DRS-2.You could do worse than the Mackie but differences really do show up when you have the above scenario( needing more headroom and definition). You may never notice the difference which is cool, save the money until you are disatisfied with the Mackie mixes.

richard sven
    sound sculptist

Somehow I knew my post wouldn't be taken seriously. Snobs!(Just kidding)
    2010 3D VIP

I am cautious with believing results of shootouts until I know what converters or at least monitors where used and if the room is treated or untreated. There are just too many variables and preamp differences can be subtle also, overall layering in a mix can reveal more than individual sounds.