Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Recording in recital hall with light street noise

Default Recording in recital hall with light street noise

I'm going to do some recording in a small recital hall with I think good acoustics, with one exception. I walked into the recital hall the other day, and noticed that it wasn't perfectly quiet. I could hear the sound of cars passing on the street. It wasn't that loud, but I think it was loud enough to get picked up by the mics.

I was wondering, is there anything I can do to block this sound out? I noticed that the recital hall already has these panels of fiberglass insulation stacked up in a corner. I think they're used to fit over the windows. Will something like this actually work? (haven't had a chance to try it yet) I was also thinking of recording early in the morning, like 3 AM. Is this my only option?

I mentioned in a previous post to this forum, I am pretty new to recording, so any help would be greatly appreciated,
    Pete

Quote Originally Posted by peterj View Post
    I'm going to do some recording in a small recital hall with I think good acoustics, with one exception. I walked into the recital hall the other day, and noticed that it wasn't perfectly quiet. I could hear the sound of cars passing on the street. It wasn't that loud, but I think it was loud enough to get picked up by the mics.
    If your ears notice it (and ears can be extremely forgiving), then the mics will spotlight it. Best option for solving noise problems is at the source. So recording on weekends or at night is the best solution.

Where do you find players willing to come in and record at 3AM?
    Lynn Fuston
    3D Audio

Making beautiful music SEEM easy since 1979.

thanks for the info Lynn, i didn't realize mics brought out background noise (yes, definitely don't want to add passing cars as a second voice to the mix). Much appreciated.