Thread: Professional Opinion

Default Professional Opinion

Hey everyone,

First of all I'd like to say how much I love the forum; I've learned so much from reading all the threads on a daily basis over the past months. Thanks so much to Lynn for allowing me to join 3db, and to all of you for your expertise. I should state that I'm a total amateur recording engineer, which I hope you'll keep in mind...

I was wondering if anyone would be willing to give me some feedback on recent recordings I've done; the excerpted clips are on this website:

http://music.fsu.edu/percussion/sounds.htm

The first three are from my teaching studio (I didn't record the last two listed on the site); chain is Earthworks TC-20 stereo pair overhead roughly ORTF with two AKG C-3000B about 10 feet in front of the Earthworks mics and off to the R and L about ten feet, all four mics hard-panned R and L. Interface/preamp Motu 8pre into Adobe Audition 2.0. Only effects are noise floor reduction and light reverb.

Please don't laugh at the gear ; I constantly read about the stuff I'd like to have some day but for our purposes and budget I think it works really well (recording lessons, master classes, podcasts, rehearsals, etc.).

Thank you in advance to anyone who will check them out and give me some feedback. And Happy New Year to you all! JP
    John W. Parks IV, DMA
    Associate Professor of Percussion
    The Florida State University
    http://www.johnparkspercussion.com

Hello from a fellow Furman alum! Your clips sound good-- compelling without a total "in your face" sound.

My only suggestions are to not separate your AKG close-in mics so much because I hear a "hole-in-the-middle" rather than each instrument having an appropriate sonic width.