Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Student Motivation

Default Student Motivation

QNote said in another thread:

As a college instructor, I applaud a program that can motivate kids to that level, since most kids today are more unmotivated than ever (that is obviously another thread). It is sad in the lack of drive most young adults have today to do something worthwhile with their lives--at least, in my experience. Oh, sorry...I said that was another thread.
    For those who are instructors here, and I know there are several, how do you motivate students? What are your experiences with students today?

I had a recent experience that I will share soon but it was not encouraging. I was just wondering how it is for others.
    Lynn Fuston
    3D Audio

Making beautiful music SEEM easy since 1979.

I taught quite a few corporate classes where many of the students were late teens and very young adults and of course there is an advantage with a music related course being that most everyone is probably there voluntarily which helps.

As to motivation... the best way I know how to do that for most (can't motivate everyone) is to schedule time to chat individually with each student. When I did that I usually started with the apparently least involved and kinda worked my way up from there, making sure I paired them with the overachievers for projects which also helped.

Anyway, I found that taking an honest direct interest in individual students - time permitting - helps a lot. I know we're old but if we think back to pre-college days the teachers who inspired us the most were the ones whom we thought genuinely cared about our progress, not just giving us lip service.

Well, I taught a class on equalization two weeks ago. There were 8 students, all seniors. Just one hour and fifteen minutes, and it was the week of Thanksgiving but three days before Thanksgiving. I gave it all I had.