Thread: A microphone maintance question

Hybrid View

Default A microphone maintance question

I am new to the recording biz, and I just bought a couple of microphones including one condenser mic. I was told that condenser microphones tend to give poor performance if you expose them in the air because the humidity in the air will harm the capsules. Is it true? Do I have to buy a dryer to put my mics in?

Gio is offline 3D VIP 2008, '09, '10, '11

Have a look at this thread. It has some tips regarding care and feeding. I wouldn't get too freaked out about it, just treat your mics nicely and with appropriate amount of care and common sense:

http://recforums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/t/415/0/
    Giovanni Fusco
    On Staff Here
    My Place

"Real People, Real Performances."

Excellent tip, Gio. My first thought after reading the original post was "Ask Klaus."

I'm going to go back and make sure all my mics are in plastic bags and away from the foam in the cases.
    Lynn Fuston
    3D Audio

Making beautiful music SEEM easy since 1979.

Bill@WelcomeHomeStudios is offline 3D VIP 2004, '05, '07, '08, '09, '10, '11, '12

I'm not comfortable with the plastic bag solution, because it holds in moisture. Maybe a Crown Royal bag?

Back when Tracy Korby was still local to me I cycled most of my important mics through his shop for a check, and to be brought back to factory spec. It was the first thing that I did when i bought a used mic, run ti out to Tracy. Starting from the appropriate "square one" made sense to me.
    Bill Park
    Welcome Home Studios

The elites have squandered the country's wealth on two of the costliest and most useless wars in American history while blithely pretending that the environmental crisis doesn't exist. We no longer have any mechanisms within the formal structures of power that will protect or advance our rights.
    (Chris Hedges)

Showbusiness. We're all here because we're not all there.