Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: "Because of..." or "In spite of...." Another philosophical question.

Default "Because of..." or "In spite of...." Another philosophical question.

"Because of..." or "In spite of...."

That's what I was pondering this morning.

I'm a big picture engineer. I won't spend 30 minutes getting a sound on the hi-hat. To me, the big picture is more important. Getting the players comfortable and getting them to the job of making music.*

And yet, I can be as obsessive and microscopic as anyone. I spent 20 minutes on one song writing individual gain changes to a gaspy singer's vocal track because the huge breath intakes were so distracting from the words.

And those pickup notes in the harp that are really low (in frequency and volume) before the run in bar 87? I'll pull them up 20 dB to make them speak.

The intonation on that oboe part in the woodwind sextet in bar 20? That one Db is really sharp. I'll fix that.

And the chair squeak in the ring out at the final sustain in flute mic? It's really tiny and most people will never notice. I will. I'll go after that. Even if takes five minutes to fix.

So, I guess I'm wondering if my clients choose me because of that tendency that I have or do they just put up with me in despite that tendency. I prefer to think that they choose me because I *do* understand the big picture but I really care enough to want to get rid of those things that are potentially distracting. I guess one man's "distracting" is another man's "humanness."

I guess it's just a matter of thresholds. What bothers me vs. what will bother someone else. I know that I frequently catch and fix problems that others aren't even aware of. I hope that my mixes don't feel cold and sterile, like all the imperfections have been whitewashed out of them.

It's all a matter of balance, I guess.