Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: UAD2-QUAD which one to get......?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    331

    Default UAD2-QUAD which one to get......?

    Hi Guys,

    Long story short... I'm eligible to get the UAD2-QUAD for FREE!

    I can order the PCIe Card version OR the Firewire Satellite version.

    Which one should I request, seeing that at the moment I can't use either.... I'm out of PCIe slots.

    So which one would be the better to sit on?

    Thanks,

    Zucco

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Eastern NC
    Posts
    2,639

    Default

    I have the PCIe version, but there's been many times I wished I had the Satellite, just out of convenience.
    Quarter Note Recording
    Kinston, NC
    www.quarternotestudio.com
    QNS on Facebook

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    237

    Default

    I've got both a solo and the quad in PCIe format. I think I'd opt for the firewire or Thunderbolt version, the latter of which, I couldn't use right now. The Satellite version is much more flexible.
    Henry Grimmius
    Fresno, CA

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    A small little piece of peaceful Williamson County
    Posts
    612

    Default

    Satellite

  5. #5
    Wireline's Avatar
    Wireline is offline 3D VIP 2004, '05, '06, '08, '09, '10
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Midland Tx
    Posts
    11,363

    Default

    If it was a freebie, I'd go for the PCIe version, and mount it in a Thunderbolt capable frame...Firewire will be gone soon, but PCIe will be around for a while longer. USB3 is here for a long time, and Thunderbolt is just now taking off...

    Food for thought
    Ken Morgan
    2010 3d VIP

  6. #6
    Brian Shillito is offline 3D VIP 2010, '11, '12, '13. '14
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Posts
    1,636

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wireline View Post
    If it was a freebie, I'd go for the PCIe version, and mount it in a Thunderbolt capable frame...Firewire will be gone soon, but PCIe will be around for a while longer. USB3 is here for a long time, and Thunderbolt is just now taking off...

    Food for thought
    There is now a Thunderbolt Satellite:http://www.uaudio.com/uad-plug-ins/u...underbolt.html

    Best regards, Brian.
    Brian Shillito
    Blackfish Sound Studio
    West Vancouver B.C.

    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000844248569

    Who added the "AT"?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    331

    Default

    "Firewire will be gone soon, but PCIe will be around for a while longer."

    Ah! There's the ticket.....

    Yes, I was concerned with that as well as, according to their own compatibility specs, it has to be a PCIe based Firewire card. I think it's easier just to make sure I have enough PCIe slots and go with that next time I get a new computer.

    Thunderbolt is Mac and I don't see me switching.

  8. #8
    Wireline's Avatar
    Wireline is offline 3D VIP 2004, '05, '06, '08, '09, '10
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Midland Tx
    Posts
    11,363

    Default

    Yes, TB is Mac, but with these chassis sled as I mentioned, they are completely PC/Mac interchangeable, hence the suggestion.

    Without opening that can of worms, I invested in a Mac Mini some time ago, and installed Win 8.1 to operate the PC stuff I've preferred (but had abandoned to be Mac-exclusive)... since all my PCs died a painful death, and running Boot Camp, the Mac/Boot Camp with drives and such running via Thunderbolt, not available on PCs, has been stunningly flawless - performance outruns any PC spec'd at 2X this little gem, etc, etc, etc....I could go on for hours about how much better this system is for what I need.

    Note: I am NOT a virtual instrument addict (need Blaske for that) - relying on mics and mic'd sources 99.5% of the time...
    Ken Morgan
    2010 3d VIP

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    2,565

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wireline View Post
    ... Thunderbolt, not available on PCs, ...
    Ken, I've to disagree. as you know I'm on PC, and I actually have an Intel® Thunderbolt-certified Z87 motherboard with two Thunderbolt interfaces.

    Best regards
    Andreas Lassak
    SoundDesign Studio

    It's maddening: As soon as I make it right - it suddenly works!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    331

    Default

    Ah! Thunderbolt would be nice.... but they aren't being offered for FREE!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. ISA 428 (the model with quad VUs)
    By Rowan in forum 3D Classifieds
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-28-2012, 11:52 PM
  2. FS / FA: Quad Eight racked vintage preamp pair
    By emrr in forum 3D Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-31-2006, 05:44 AM
  3. PT+ Opteron Quad systems
    By Philip Perkins in forum The Old Yellow Board
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-08-2006, 03:56 AM
  4. Anyone heard of the Sebatron vmp4000e quad valve pre?
    By Kermit in forum Microphones and Preamps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-15-2003, 01:58 PM
  5. quad cable wiring help?
    By ChrisMilne in forum The Old Yellow Board
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 08-16-2002, 05:09 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •