Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Session Jitters

First Session Jitters

Oh, man, I'm starting to get nervous. My first recording session will begin next weekend at the church sanctuary. We're going to have 7 sessions lasting 4 hours each. I have no experience doing this, though have some decent gear. I feel like toddler about to drive an SUV. The good thing is, there's no money involved in this, it's for charity, and most of the musicians are good-natured amateurs who are just excited about making music. Pray that I don't mess it all up. And thanks for all the tips over the months leading up to now. Wish me luck (and any last minute tips...)

It sounds like it will be quite a project ... 7 x 4 , 28 hours of recording!

One thing is for sure (if your experience will be anything like mine have been)...you'll know a lot more about the way you want to do it during the seventh session!!

You might consider some kind of backup, too. Even something lower fidelity than the rest, if necessary (e.g., board mix to hifi vcr). Could save a lot of disappointment, for you as well as the others, especially if its a one shot deal.

Most of all, relax and have fun with it. It will help the others to do the same.

Good luck and best wishes!

John
    SpringStone Studio

Originally posted by Jansen:
    <STRONG>Oh, man, I'm starting to get nervous. My first recording session will begin next weekend at the church sanctuary. We're going to have 7 sessions lasting 4 hours each. I have no experience doing this, though have some decent gear. I feel like toddler about to drive an SUV. The good thing is, there's no money involved in this, it's for charity, and most of the musicians are good-natured amateurs who are just excited about making music. Pray that I don't mess it all up. And thanks for all the tips over the months leading up to now. Wish me luck (and any last minute tips...)</STRONG>