Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: API 512 Good All Around?

API 512 Good All Around?

Say you're going into Pro Tools, and you have to have a pre that sounds pretty darn great on vocals, and guitars. Don't have to worry about brass, drums, etc. Vocal and guitars only (acoustic, electric with amp, and bass DI).

Would the API 512 (or Averil version) be a good all around choice? I have little experience with them other than an engineer who used to bring his lunchbox to sessions, and my only memory was that vocals always sounded too bright. That may have been his EQ prefs too, so I don't want to have preconceptions about the API. I do tend to like bigger fatter sounds, but unfortunately don't have the wallet for them. So I'm thinking of being practical and saying..."Look, we'll get specialty pres later....what's a great all around pre for what I'm doing?"

Thanks
    TH

API pres are fantastic, all-round pieces. Don't get too bogged down in worrying about all the different flavours of preamp - EVERYTHING will sound great through an API. Different mic choices are FAR more important, IMHO.

Originally posted by StuartMac:
    <STRONG>API pres are fantastic, all-round pieces. Don't get too bogged down in worrying about all the different flavours of preamp - EVERYTHING will sound great through an API. Different mic choices are FAR more important, IMHO.</STRONG>
    Thanks...someone just said the exact same thing to me yesterday! I just ordered one...

Thanks
    Tom

I think the 3124+ is an excellent value for the money.

If you like the API flavor, I'd never hesitate to recommend them as a great first all-around preamp. I think they probably shine a little bit more on a rock/pop/country recording vs. classical or acoustic jazz.
    Jim Dugger
    Poorhouse Productions

At 20 bits, you are on the verge of dynamic range covering fly-farts-at-20-feet to untolerable pain. Really, what more could we need?