Thread: apogee rosetta 800 and DigiOO2

apogee rosetta 800 and DigiOO2

hi, I'm fairly new to home studios. I have a simple setup that consists of a digiOO2 rack, a great river mp2-nv, a rnc compressor and a few decent mics. I try to keep it simple because I'm pretty technically challenged. i recently aquired an apogee rosetta 800. Is there a way I can use the rosetta for a/d conversion and get 8 inputs at 96k with the OO2 as my interface. ???

thanks
    Julian

Unfortunately the Digi 002 doesn't suppor 96k over its lightpipe inputs. This is one of the most glaring omissions on that interface in my opinion. I have one as well, and even if they had supported SMUX for 4 96k channels over lightpipe I would have been happier! If the rosetta has a lightpipe output, you can use it as an additional 8 inputs but only at 44.1 or 48k. If you hear of any way around that limitation let me know although if anyone has found a way around it it's definitely a hack.
    Use your ears, but I'm betting that the appogee converters will still be better than Digi's stock converters.
    -Andrew

I "think" there's a way around the shortcoming, and it's called Pro Tools M-powered. New from musik-messe, it's Pro Tools (special ed) to work with M-audio interface (specificially, Audiophile 192/2496 and Firewire 410/1814). The 1814 has ADAT I/O and "supposedly" support up to 192KHz... Need to check on detail spec as the info still not clear. The whole thing is cheaper than Digi002; you loose 2 mic-pre and 4 analog out, but you gain WC and it runs on firewire power. Now, that's real portable ProTools.
    My Dell 9100 laptop is faster than my dual G5 PowerMac. Mac Sux!

Haigbabe is offline 3D VIP 2004, '05, '06, '07, '08, '09, '10, '11, '12
    Just to clarify (amixer), the 002 *will* do 96k via lightpipe. But only in s/pdif mode which is therefore two channels only.

Best regards,

Hb
    Proud supporter of 3D as a 2012 3D VIP