Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mix 3 - Diggin In

Default Mix 3 - Diggin In

Well, as a Mix Project vet I thought I would try and start us off. I know we haven't heard the other mixes or know what others have done ... but I think it would be interesting to hear how the front end of this project went for everyone.
    This is what I know. I'd say most were limited on time. I think this is good and bad. I think we all had to manage our time on this to get the best results we could. I'm not too sure one will ever feel they had enough time to work with these "Mix" projects. With that said, I think it would be interesting to talk about the opproach everyone took to the project. I'll start ...

Upon first listen I felt the song lacked a lot of focus. The song was real long and never really got to the point for me. Kinda like a lot of foreplay and no action. I desided to edit the song in such a way as to give the band a little more focus. So narrow down that the sound of the band is and what the song was doing. As the song was recorded it felt like a buffet of sonic stuff. I went for the Emril "BAM!!!!!!" approach. Having done more radio and single mixing, I though we should get to the point a little quicker. So I tried to present the song to the listener in a way that it would be given to them as an experience. Much like fine dining.