Thread: Springtime mixes - my listening notes

Default Springtime mixes - my listening notes

Well I'm happy to stick my neck out and give my opinions on the Springtime mixes. I didnt do a mix for this song so I wont be giving away which one is mine, but all the same I'd just like a nod from somebody that it's ok to go ahead with my opinions on these mixes.

Before I do I ought to make a few things clear:

1. I'm a complete amateur and really have no idea what I'm talking about
    2. I've found that when you're listening to a song over and over it's novelty that tends to grab your ear, whether good or bad.
    3. I'm listening critically and tend to notice the things I would do differently so most of my comments are negative rather than positive. I've tried to compensate for this as much as possible but don't want to offend anyone.

I'll post as soon as Logan or somebody says it's ok to do so.

steve

Post away my friend. take care Logan

I listened to the disc twice - on HR824s and sennheiser cans.

Now, remember: I don't know what I'm talking about. Every thing I say here could well be plain wrong. These comments are in my humble (and ignorant) opinion.

1. Nice smoothing (and tuning?) of violins. Vocal dynamic range where singer gets closer-further from mike could be better smoothed. Sounds raw, not necessarily bad but contrasts with very produced guitar sounds. Nice minimalist delay effect on vocal. Bit too much shine and prominence on hi hat & ride towards the end.

2. nice reverb on violins & vocals intro. Great delay in accapella but cuts out a bit abruptly. Love the kick sound but a bit prominent (on my monitors). Electric guitars sound a bit thin when they kick in. Vocal tuning issues unresolved. Thin, noisy guitars around 4.00.

3. Too much of the direct acoustic, sounds scratchy. Quite like the stylised vocal. Tuning issues though. Vocal gets much quieter after intro, sounds odd, maybe a limiter squashing the vocal when the other instruments are there?