Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Blown Monitor - Fix? or Replace???

Blown Monitor - Fix? or Replace???

I have been using a pair of Audix A1 monitors for about 4 years. I thought of them as a major upgrade to the Monitor 1's (original) I had before them.

I run them off of an Alesis RA100 amp (75watts RMS per side) and have been monitoring through a Mackie VLZ mixer (not the VLZ pro).

Seems I have blown a driver in one of the speakers.

I can replace both drivers (seems the way to go to get a perfecty match, since drivers age and mine are almost 5) for $150.

Should I bother fixing them?

If I do, should I get a Central Station or big know to replace the VLZ mixer? I assume this would be a major improvement.

Or should I just trash it all and get a new pair of active monitors. I have always thought the HR824s sounded great (much better than I feel my Audix sound). But will there be enough improvement to justify the cost?

Shane
    Shane Bushman - 3D-VIP
    Treehouse Productions
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Was it the tweeter?

If so, with careful inspection, you may be able to get a replacement (or a pair) from Madisound, from the manufacturer and bypass all the mark-up on them. If it is a vifa dome, madisound has the field replaceable voice coils. A buddy had some PB6.5 Tannoys and they use a D-20 vifa tweeter. Replacement for 2, 18 bucks from Madisound, replacement from tannoy?? $$$$$$$$

PS, sometimes a "great" sounding monitor smooths over some inner detail that can keep one from getting the best mix. Just a thought.

It was the woofer, but I only see AUDAX on the site...not Audix.

How can I find the direct reference #?

Shane
    Shane Bushman - 3D-VIP
    Treehouse Productions
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Originally posted by Category 5:
    <STRONG>It was the woofer, but I only see AUDAX on the site...not Audix.

How can I find the direct reference #?

Shane</STRONG>